“The Star Polisher” by Leah Becks

A wonderful day to you today.  Let’s reflect on who we are as teachers of the world. Here is a wonderful reflection by Leah Beck I really have enjoyed… It is called “The Star Polisher”.

I have a great job in the universe of occupations.

What do I do?

I’m a “star polisher”.

I have a very important job.

If you want to know how important

Just go out at night and look at the stars.

Twinkling and sparkling.

You see, I’m a teacher.

The stars are the children in my class.

My job is to take them in-

In whatever shape they’re in-

And shine and buff them and send them out to take

their places as bright little twinkling beacons in the sky.

They come in my room in all shapes and sizes.

Sometimes they’re bent, tarnished, dirty, crinkly, and broken.

Some stars are cuddly, soft, and sweet.

Some stars are prickly and thorny.

I tell them that the world cannot do without them.

I tell them they can do anything they set their minds to do.

I tell them they can be the brightest, shiniest stars in the sky

and the world will be a better place because of them.

Each nigt as look at the sky, I’m reminded of my very

important job and awesome responsability.

I go and get my soft buffing cloth and my bottle of polish in 

preparation for tomorrow and for my class of little stars.

Let’s remember who we are as educators. Remember all the little stars who need so much of you and me.

Leave a Reply

